On Air Now Bob Conway Noon - 4:00PM Email
Now Playing Together In Electric Deams Georgio Moroder, Phil Oakly

Four Wicklow Councillors Among 17 Nationwide To Receive Over €70,000 In Retirement Gratuities

Councillors in Wicklow and around the country who stepped down at last May's local elections are to receive retirement gratuities totaling more than 6 million euro.

Wicklow County Council's costs are the highest, with 12 former councillors receiving more that than €505,000.
17 councillors will receive at least 70-thousand euro each, according to details released under the Freedom of Information Act. Four of those are here in County Wicklow.

Pat Vance received €73,600, while Jim Ruttle has been given €73,200.  Tommy Cullen qualifies for €71,400 with Pat Doran set to receive €70,750.

John Ryan received €51,000,  while Grainne McLoughlin has been paid just under €28,000. Brendan Thornhill and Mary McDonald each received €17,000, while Oliver O’Brien is set to receive €17,000.

Former councillors who will have to wait until they are 50 to receive their gratuities are Christopher Fox who is line for €51,700 and Daire Nolan and Nicola Lawless who each will receive €17,000.

Wexford county council refused to reveal the individual payments but 9 nine councillors will share over €315,500. Two councillors in Carlow, Walter Lacey and Denis Foley receive over €68,000, while a third jim Deane, will receive just over €17,000
Topping the list is Longford's Luie McEntire, who was paid just under 80-thousand euro in June.

More from Wicklow News


Co Wicklow Weather

  • Bray

    Light rain

    High: 9°C | Low: 8°C

  • Wicklow

    Light rain shower

    High: 10°C | Low: 8°C

  • Arklow

    Light rain shower

    High: 9°C | Low: 8°C

  • Blessington

    Light rain

    High: 7°C | Low: 4°C

  • Baltinglass

    Light rain shower

    High: 8°C | Low: 4°C

Listen Live